About phase 5 digital products

phase5 buildingphase 5 digital products was a hardware manufacturing company founded in 1992 and 100% privately held by it's founders Gerald W. Carda and Wolf Dietrich. The company started as a dedicated hardware developer and manufacturer of Amiga add-ons, and became a leading vendor of CPU Accelerators, Graphic Expansion Boards and SCSI Controllers for the Amiga platform, who shipped some 60,000 products into this market since late 1995. Leading products and innovations such as the first 68060 Accelerators for Amiga computers, the first 32-bit Zorro-III DMA SCSI controllers for A3000/A4000 systems, the succesful Blizzard series of inexpensive high-quality accelerators for A1200 and A2000 systems, or the powerful CyberVision Graphic card family and the CyberGraphX V3 RTG standard define the milestones of development for which the company received 20 Product of the Year Awards by leading magazines since 1992. With new development projects integrating the PowerPC RISC processor into accelerator boards for Amiga computers as well as Apple Macintosh systems, and the new ASE (Advanced Silicon Engineering) Group which is assigned to ASIC research and development phase 5 digital products underscores it's company profile as a highly innovative company, which is based on the business philosophy that continous product innovation is the key for a succesful future, and that a market for alternative technology will continue to exist.

phase5 buildingphase 5 digital products was located in Oberursel, Germany, approximately 10 minutes away from Frankfurt and 15 minutes away from the Rhein-Main International Airport. In it's headquarters, which cover 960 squaremeter office space on two floors of a modern office building a team of about 20 employees (not considering external software developers) was working in the departments development, sales, service and support. In an additional service area covering appx. 600 square meters the phase 5 Elektronikfertigung GmbH, a sister company founded in 1996, provided high-quality electronics manufacturing with an additonal staff of 7 employees. As an overview, the phase 5 group currently focuses on the following operations:

Amiga Hardware Development, Distribution and Support

phase 5 digital products remains to be dedicated to the Amiga computer and the Amiga community, with the goal to support the active user base with powerful and innovative products. As a major breakthrough phase 5 digital products was going to introduce a new series of advanced PowerPC based accelerators, which operate as dual-processor systems in order to offer breath-taking performance enhancements combined with a 100% compatibility to the existing OS and applications. With a strong support for software developers worldwide by providing development systems and tools phase 5 digital products actively supported the introducion of a new software generation that can make use of the significant performance increases which are possible with the PowerUp Accelerators.

MacIntosh add-on development and distribution

Using it's comprehensive design know-how and the experience with 68k and PowerPC processors, phase 5 digital products created a series of PowerPC Accelerator Boards for Apple Macintosh Computers, which were succesfully introduced to the market. As a spin-off of other technology projects, phase 5 digital products planed to expand the Macintosh add-on product portfolio in the future.

System Design and Development

Preparing the step from a vendor of hardware add-on products to a computer system vendor, phase 5 digital products took an extraordinary approach by starting the design of a new and innovative computer system under the project name A\\BOX. A major aspect of the design goals for this system was the realisation and integration of innovative design concepts which were not found in standard PC or Macintosh compatibles, by use of custom chips especially designed for this system (see below).

ASIC Development

Following the philosophy that real innovation today and in the future can only be realized on chip level, phase 5 digital products had set up it's ASE (Advanced Silicon Engineering) Group in 1996. This group did ASIC reaearch and design, and was assigned to innovative projects such as the CAIPIRINHA custom chip development, which are considered to be the key projects for the future development of the company and it's products such as the A\\BOX computer system.




back to Overview back to Top


phase5


This page is Copyright © 2005-2017 by Matthias Münch. All Rights reserved.
Some content is under Copyright of phase 5 digital products.
Amiga, AmigaOS and the Amiga-Logo are registered Trademarks of Amiga Inc.
PowerPC and the PowerPC-Logo are registered Trademarks of the IBM Corporation

Über phase 5 digital products

phase5 buildingphase 5 digital products war ein 1992 gegründeter Hersteller von Hardwareprodukten, und befand sich zu 100% im Besitz der Firmengründer Gerald W. Carda und Wolf Dietrich. Das Unternehmen begann als Entwickler und Hersteller von Amiga-Erweiterungskarten und hatte sich zu einem der führenden Hersteller von CPU-Beschleunigerkarten, Grafikkarten und SCSI-Kontrollern für den Amiga mit mehr als 60.000 verkauften Produkten in diesem Marktsegment seit Ende 1995 entwickelt. Führende Produkte und innovative Entwicklungen, wie die erste 68060-Beschleunigerkarte für den Amiga, der erste 32-Bit Zorro-III DMA SCSI Kontroller für A3000- und A4000-Systeme, die erfolgreiche Blizzard-Serie mit preiswerten und leistungsstarken Beschleunigerkarten für A1200- und A2000-Systeme, oder die leistungsfähige Familie der CyberVision64-Grafikkarten und der CyberGraphX V3 RTG-Standard markierten die Meilensteine der Entwicklungsarbeit, für die das Unternehmen seit 1992 zwanzig Auszeichnungen als "Produkt des Jahres" von führenden Amiga-Fachzeitschriften erhielt. Durch neue Entwicklungsprojekte, wie die Integration der PowerPC-RISC-Prozessoren in Beschleunigerkarten für die Amiga-Systemarchitektur und in Beschleunigerkarten für Apple Macintosh-Systeme sowie die neue ASE(Advanced Silicon Design)-Gruppe, die sich mit ASIC-Entwicklung befaßt, bestärkte phase 5 digital products seine Position als innovatives Unternehmen, welches die Philosophie vertrat, daß der Schlüssel zu einer erfolgreichen Zukunft eine kontinuierliche Innovation der Produktpalette darstellt und daß ein beständiger Markt für neue und alternative Technologien existiert.

phase5 buildingphase 5 digital products hatte seinen Firmensitz in Oberursel, ca. 10 Minuten von Frankfurt und ca 15 Minuten vom Rhein-Main-Flughafen entfernt. In der Zentrale mit mehr als 960 Quadratmetern moderner Bürofläche auf 2 Stockwerken waren 20 Angestellte (externe Mitarbeiter für Softwareentwicklung nicht eingerechnet) in den Bereichen Entwicklung, Vertrieb, Service und Support tätig. In einem weiteren Servicebereich von ca. 600 Quadratmetern hatte die phase 5 Elektronikfertigung GmbH, eine 1996 gegründete Tochtergesellschaft, mit weiteren 7 Mitarbeitern die Platinenbestückung aufgenommen. Die phase 5-Gruppe konzentrierte sich auf die folgenden Projekte:

Amiga Hardware-Entwicklung, Vertrieb und Support

phase 5 digital products fühlte sich der Amiga-Gemeinde zugehörig und verpflichtet mit dem Ziel, die aktiven Amiga-Benutzer mit leistungsstarken und innovativen Produkten zu unterstützen. Ein wesentlicher Durchbruch in diesem Bereich war die Einführung von neuen PowerPC-basierenden Beschleunigerkarten, die als Dual-Prozessor-Systeme eine überwältigende Leistungssteigerung bei gleichzeitiger voller Kompatibilität zum Betriebssystem und existierenden Applikationen ermöglichten. Durch die weltweite Unterstützung von führenden Softwareentwicklern mit Entwicklungssystemen von phase 5 digital products wurde aktiv die Einführung von Applikationen einer neuen Generation gefördert, die die extreme Leistungssteigerung durch die PowerUp-Beschleunigerkarten nutzen konnten.

MacIntosh-Erweiterungen

Unter Nutzung der umfangreichen Entwicklungserfahrung im Bereich der 68k- und PowerPC-Prozessoren hatte phase 5 digital products eine Serie von PowerPC-Beschleunigerkarten für den Apple Macintosh erfolgreich am Markt eingeführt. Als Spin-Off aus anderen Projekten wollte phase 5 digital products die Produktpalette im Macintosh-Bereich in naher Zukunft erweitern.

System-Design

Mit der Entwicklung eines neuen und innovativen Computersystems unter dem Projektnamen A\BOX vollzog phase 5 digital products den Schritt vom Hersteller von Erweiterungskarten und Zubehör zum Systemhersteller. Ein wesentliches Entwicklungsziel war dabei die Verwirklichung und Systemintegration innovativer Technologien und Konzepte, die in aktuellen Systemkonzepten wie PC- oder Macintosh-kompatiblen Geräten nicht zu finden waren, unter Verwendung von speziell für dieses System entwickelten Customchips.

ASIC-Entwicklung

Gemäß der Philosophie, daß echte Innovation heute und in Zukunft nur auf Silizium-Ebene zu realisieren ist, hatte phase 5 digital products 1996 die ASE (Advanced Chip Engineering)-Abteilung gegründet. Diese Abteilung beschäftigte sich mit der Projektierung und Entwicklung von ASICs und führte unter anderem die Entwicklung des CAIPIRINHA Custom-Chips durch, welcher als Herzstück des unter dem Projektnamen A\BOX in der Entwicklung befindlichen Computersystems Einsatz finden und eine Basis für zukünftige Entwicklungen bilden sollte.




zurück zur Übersicht zum Seitenanfang


phase5


Diese Seite ist Copyright © 2005-2017 bei Matthias Münch. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
Einige Inhalte unterliegen dem Copyright von phase 5 digital products.
Amiga, AmigaOS und das Amiga-Logo sind eingetragene Warenzeichen von Amiga Inc.
PowerPC und das PowerPC-Logo sind eingetragene Warenzeichen der IBM Corporation